Who’s doing NaNoWriMo?

I am!

The first time I participated in 2006, I did not have an outline. I had a loose idea of plot and setting. I did not finish, but the exercise of writing proved valuable. Freewriting was a wonderful way to experience the main character’s journey, along with her. I now have a better idea of character development. I could pick up this project anytime, but life has shown me that I have 3 other books to write first.

Last year I participated again. I had an outline. But I did not finish. (I chose to write the last story in a trilogy.) Still, the writing itself was very valuable. The commitment and daily exercise in the craft is always valuable. Sometimes the process of development is the point of the journey. Are you with me? It’s not the finished product of the writing that matters most, it’s the act of writing, itself. The more I write, the more I discover- about my characters, my “novel world,” myself.

Earlier this summer, I participated in CampNaNoWriMo. For the Camp program, you choose your own genre and word count goal. I chose poetry and 10,000 words. The Cabin support group was a fun chat room. I finished! Afterwards, I worked with a writing coach on the draft, and sent the manuscript to an editor. I tweaked some poems with their suggestions, but some I left unchanged. Some I removed completely and reworked into new poems. The edited collection is currently out for review by my trusted friends. I had already obtained a cover design prior to camp, as my personal incentive. I intend to self-publish this book via CreateSpace in time for Christmas.

Having now completed the first book in my non-linear trilogy, this year I am writing the second and central story for NaNoWriMo. I have an outline, which I’m developing further. My plan is to outline 16 chapters, and spend two days on each chapter.

Are you writing?

