Jambo!
That’s Swahili for Hello.
Isn’t that fun?
Just the sound of the word makes me smile.
I think of music and color and happy.
How wonderful that Tanzanians greet one another with such a blessing: it is a gift of happiness.

I love words. I love that simple letters combine, creating a world of meaning. I love that behind a word is a story. Words together are music, indeed. Sometimes harmonious. Sometimes not. Sometimes words and stories depict awful sentiments. Sometimes that is the point.

But for all the shared experience of being human, words can contain different meanings from one person to another.

It’s a miracle that we even communicate at all!

As a writer and poet, I weave words. They are my building blocks, my tools, my currency, my undoing.

And still I write.

Why do you write ?

